Michael Day

Professor Michael J. Day

BSc, BVMS(Hons), PhD, DSc, Dipl. ECVP, FASM, FRCPath, FRCVS, Professor of Veterinary Pathology, University of Bristol

Michael Day qualified as a veterinary surgeon from Murdoch University (Western Australia) in 1982. After a period in small animal practice he returned to Murdoch to complete a Residency in Microbiology and Immunology, and a PhD involving collaborative research with the Royal Perth Hospital.

Michael held postdoctoral positions in experimental immunology at the Universities of Bristol and Oxford and in 1990 returned to Bristol where he is currently Professor of Veterinary Pathology and Director of Diagnostic Pathology. His research interests cover experimental models of autoimmunity and a range of companion animal immune-mediated and infectious diseases. Michael has published widely in the field of immunopathology, is author of the textbooks Clinical Immunology of the Dog and Cat (in second edition) and Veterinary Immunology: Principles and Practice (in second edition). He is co-editor of the BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Haematology and Transfusion Medicine (in second edition) and the texts Arthropod-Borne Infectious Diseases of the Dog and Cat and Canine and Feline Gastroenterology.  He is a diplomate of the European College of Veterinary Pathology, and holds fellowship of the Australian Society for Microbiology, the Royal College of Pathologists and the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons. Michael is Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Comparative Pathology. He is Senior Vice President of the BSAVA. Michael is also chairman of the WSAVA Vaccination Guidelines Group and the WSAVA One Health Committee. He is a member of the Petplan Charitable Trust Scientific Committee, Vice President of the WSAVA Foundation, a member of the Board of the WSAVA AFSCAN Project and a Trustee for the Mission Rabies Project. Michael is co-founder of a university spin-out company KWS Biotest Ltd where he is Director of Pathology. He has been the recipient of the BSAVA Amoroso Award for outstanding contribution to small animal studies (1999), the BSAVA Petsavers Award (2000, 2006 & 2007), the RCVS Trust‰’s G. Norman Hall Medal for outstanding research into animal diseases (2003) and the Petplan Charitable Trust Scientific Award (2009).

Publications Link: